Travis Credit Union Awards Twenty Scholarships

2013 Scholarship Winners, Travis CU

2013 Mary Keith Duff Memorial Scholarship Recipients

(8/05/2013) VACAVILLE, CA — Travis Credit Union recently awarded 20 worthy high school students the Mary Keith Duff Memorial Scholarship. The credit union offers the scholarships to assist its young members with the increasing cost of higher education and to reinforce its commitment to the financial success of our country's future leaders.

During an elegant "Ivy League" summer reception, each scholarship recipient was presented a $1,500 scholarship to help them with college expenses. The students also received a scholarship certificate, a certificate of special Congressional recognition, a California State Assembly certificate of recognition, a California State Senate certificate of recognition, a small gift and complementary photos.  The reception included hors de oeuvres and classical music, and was decorated with columns and ivy to give the room an "Ivy League" ambience.

The Travis Credit Union Board of Directors established the scholarship program in 2004 and named it the Mary Keith Duff Memorial Scholarship Fund in honor of a long-time board member, who passed away in December 2004. To date, Travis Credit Union has contributed $190,000 to the program and will continue to award $30,000 annually.

"As a credit union, we are founded on the philosophy of 'people helping people,' and we stand behind the principles that promote human development and social responsibility," says Patricia Moreno, chairman of the board for Travis Credit Union. "Offering these scholarships is just one way Travis Credit Union is assisting young members."

"These students' achievements in school and community along with their aspirations for the future signify that they have the dreams and determination to make a difference in the lives of others," adds Patsy Van Ouwerkerk, Travis Credit Union president and chief executive officer. "We are proud to honor them and be part of their plans for the future.

The Scholarship Committee, made up of board members, volunteers and senior staff, selected the finalists for Travis Credit Union's tenth annual distribution of scholarship funds. More than 125 students applied.

To apply for the scholarship, college-bound high school seniors, who are Travis Credit Union members in good standing, had to have a GPA of at least 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale).

Application requirements included a completed Travis Credit Union Student Scholarship Application, a 250-word personal statement essay describing post college plans and goals as they pertain to field of study, a transcript copy certified by a high school official and one letter of reference from a teacher. The following are twenty students who met these criteria and more:

Katrina-Joy G. Bernales
Vanden High School, Vacaville, CA
University of California, Irvine

Kristen P. Biermayer
Carondelet High School, Concord, CA
University of California, Berkeley
Biomedical Engineering

Karli Kim Bosler
Will C. Wood High School, Vacaville, CA
Brigham Young University

Alexis Mae L. Calinawan
Justin-Siena High School, Napa, CA
University of California, Los Angeles

Sarena Allyse Cliche
Winters High School, Winters, CA
Brigham Young University

Kelsey Margaret Daugherty
Will C. Wood High School, Vacaville, CA
The University of Alabama

Brooke Ellen Doherty
Randolph High School, Schertz, TX
Texas A & M University
Business Management

Mariah Elizabeth Frerichs
Capital Christian High School, Sacramento, CA
California Baptist University

Erika Lauren Cruz Guevarra
Rodriguez High School, Fairfield, CA
San Francisco State University
Political Science

Danielle Nicole Henderson
Pioneer High School, Woodland, CA
Willamette University
Liberal Arts

David Ryan Ho
Napa High School, Napa, CA
University of California, Los Angeles

Mariellen C. Hofland
Dixon High School, Dixon, CA
Dordt College

Madison Ann Holzapple
Will C. Wood High School, Vacaville, CA
Humboldt State University
Environmental Resource Engineering

Faith Elizabeth Lemire-Baeten
Liberty Ranch High School, Galt, CA
Harvey Mudd College

Emily Michaela Leokadia Lewis
Vanden High School, Fairfield, CA
University of California, Los Angeles
Business Economics

Paige Pritchett McGlothern
New Technology High School, Napa, CA
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Animal Science

Leeza J. Oyoung
Armijo High School, Fairfield, CA
University of California, Santa Barbara

Sanchita Raychaudhuri
Davis Senior High School, Davis, CA
Harvard College

Ryan Ikaika Selfaison
Vanden High School, Fairfield, CA
Brigham Young University
Exercise Science

Rachel Gwen Tietze
Vacaville High School, Vacaville, CA
University of California, Santa Barbara

Contact: Shérry Cordonnier,
Director of Corporate Relations
Travis Credit Union
Phone: 707-469-1715

Headquartered in Vacaville, California, Travis Credit Union is a not-for-profit, cooperative financial institution serving those who live or work in Solano, Yolo, Sacramento, Placer, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Napa, Contra Costa, Alameda, Sonoma, Colusa, and Merced Counties. Currently, Travis Credit Union is the 11th largest credit union in California, with more than 178,000 members and over $2.1 billion in assets. As one of the leading financial institutions in Solano, Contra Costa, Yolo, Napa, and Merced Counties, Travis Credit Union's strength lies in its faithful commitment to its members; its solid, secure history; and its long-standing track record of dedicated service.

Download on the App Store Android App Facebook Twitter Linked-in YouTube Pinterest Instagram  

This credit union is federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration.

© 2014 Travis Credit Union  All Rights Reserved.
We value your membership and your privacy is very important to us.
Privacy Policy | Do Not Track Website Policy